News

22.06.2018

Horizons Launch and Docking

German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst recently flew to the International Space Station (ISS) in a Soyuz capsule alongside Roscosmos commander Sergei Prokopyev and NASA astronaut Serena Auñón-Chancellor. Design & Data provided the livestream for ESA.

Alexander was launched into space on 6 June at 11:12 GMT (13:12 CEST). After 34 orbits of Earth, he arrived at the International Space Station two days later on 8 June at 13:07 GMT (15:07 CEST). His Soyuz spacecraft docked with the Station’s Rassvet module. The hatch opened about two hours later, marking the start of his Horizons mission.

The Horizons science programme is packed with European research. Over 50 experiments will deliver benefits to people on Earth as well as prepare for future space exploration.

This is Alexander’s second spaceflight and he is the second ESA astronaut to command the ISS.

Watch the replay of the livestream here: https://livestream.com/ESA/HorizonsLaunch

  • Animations